> Program > Symposia

I. MULTI-SCALE MODELING AND SIMULATION

Symposium 1 - Discovery of Novel Ceramics by Multiscale Simulation
▪ Point of Contact
Kwang-Ryeol Lee (Korea Institute of Science and Technology, Korea) krlee@kist.re.kr

Symposium 2 - Computational Approaches in Design of Ceramics for Energy Applications
▪ Point of Contact
Sang Soo Han (Korea Institute of Science and Technology, Korea) sangsoo@kist.re.kr


II. INNOVATIVE PROCESSING AND MANUFACTURING

Symposium 3 - Novel, Green, and Strategic Processing and Manufacturing Technologies
▪ Point of Contact
Tatsuki Ohji (Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan) t-ohji@aist.go.jp
Mrityunjay Singh (Ohio Aerospace Institute, USA) mrityunjaysingh@oai.org
Young-Jo Park (Korea Institute of Materials Science, Korea) yjpark87@kims.re.kr

Symposium 4 - Polymer Derived Ceramics and Composites
▪ Point of Contact
Paolo Colombo (University of Padova, Italy) paolo.colombo@unipd.it
Ralf Riedel (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany) riedel@materials.tu-darmstadt.de

Symposium 5 - Advanced Powder Processing and Manufacturing Technologies
▪ Point of Contact
Makio Naito (Joining and Welding Research Institute, Osaka University, Japan) m-naito@jwri.osaka-u.ac.jp
Junichi Tatami (Yokohama National University, Japan) tatami@ynu.ac.jp

Symposium 6 - Synthesis and Processing of Materials using SPS
▪ Point of Contact
Takashi Goto (Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, Japan) goto@imr.tohoku.ac.jp
Javier E. Garay (University of California, Riverside, USA) jegaray@engr.ucr.edu

Symposium 7 - Novel Spray Coatings
▪ Point of Contact
Dong-Soo Park (Korea Institute of Materials Science, Korea) pds1590@kims.re.kr
Jun Akedo (National Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan) akedo-j@aist.go.jp

Symposium 8 - 3D Printing and Printed Electronics
▪ Point of Contact
Beyong Hwan Ryu (Korea Research Institute of Chemical Technology, Korea) bhryu@krict.re.kr
Soshu Kirihara (Osaka University, Japan) kirihara@jwri.osaka-u.ac.jp

Symposium 9 - Crystal Growth and Interface Phenomena at Nanoscale
▪ Point of Contact
Sung-Yoon Chung (KAIST, Korea) sychung@kaist.ac.kr
Si-Young Choi (Korea Institute of Materials Science, Korea) youngchoi@kims.re.kr

III. NANOTECHNOLOGY AND STRUCTURAL CERAMICS

Symposium 10 - Nanostructured Materials and Systems
▪ Point of Contact
Heon-Jin Choi (Yonsei University, Korea) hjc@yonsei.ac.kr
Sanjay Mathur (Koln University, Germany) Sanjay.mathur@uni-koeln.de

Special Session - Graphene and related 2D nanomaterials;
Fundamental Science and Applications
▪ Point of Contact
Jong-Hyun Ahn (Yonsei University, Korea) ahnj@yonsei.ac.kr
Symposium 11 - Engineering Ceramics: Carbide and Nitride Ceramics
▪ Point of Contact
Young-Wook Kim (University of Seoul, Korea) ywkim@uos.ac.kr
Junichi Tatami (Yokohama National University, Japan) tatami@ynu.ac.jp

Symposium 12 - Ceramic Matrix Composites: Design, Development, and Applications
▪ Point of Contact
Ji Yeon Park (Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute, Korea) jypark@kaeri.re.kr
Laifei Cheng (Northwestern Polytechnical University, China) chenglf@nwpu.edu.cn
Shaoming Dong (Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, China) smdong@mail.sic.ac.cn
Walter Krenkel (University of Bayreuth’ Germany) walter.krenkel@uni-bayreuth.de

Symposium 13 - Advanced Ceramic Coatings: Processing, Properties, and Applications
▪ Point of Contact
Byung-Koog Jang (National Institute for Materials Science, Japan) JANG.Byungkoog@nims.go.jp
Yoon-Suk Oh (Korea Institute of Ceramic Engineering and Technology, Korea) ysoh30@kicet.re.kr
Peter Mechnich (German Aerospace Center, Germany) Peter.Mechnich@dlr.de

Symposium 14 – Materials for Extreme Environments: Ultrahigh Temperature Ceramics (UHTCs) and Nanolaminated Ternary Ceramics (MAX Phases)
▪ Point of Contact
Yanchun Zhou (Aerospace Research Institute of Materials & Processing Technology, China) yczhou714@gmail.com
Sea-Hoon Lee (Korea Institute of Materials Science, Korea) seahoon1@kims.re.kr

Symposium 15 - Geopolymers: Low Energy and Environmentally Friendly Ceramics
▪ Point of Contact
Waltraud M. Kriven (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) kriven@illinois.edu

Symposium 16 - Transparent Ceramics
▪ Point of Contact
Yiquan Wu(Alfred University, USA) wuy@alfred.edu
Do Kyung Kim (KAIST, Korea) dkkim@kaist.ac.kr


IV. MULTIFUNCTIONAL MATERIALS AND SYSTEMS

Symposium 17 - Advanced Ferroelectric and Piezoelectric Materials
▪ Point of Contact
Hajime Nagata (Tokyo Univ. of Science, Japan) h-nagata@rs.noda.tus.ac.jp
Jae-Ho Jeon (Korea Institute of Materials Science, Korea) jjh@kims.re.kr

Symposium 18 - Oxide Thin Films: Processing, Characterization, and Applications
▪ Point of Contact
Soon-Gil Yoon (Chungnam National University Korea) sgyoon@cnu.ac.kr

Symposium 19 – Magnetic Ceramics and Composites
▪ Point of Contact
Sang-Im Yoo (Seoul National University, Korea) siyoo@snu.ac.kr

Symposium 20 – Recent Advances in High Temperature Superconductors
▪ Point of Contact
Hong-Soo Ha (Korea Electromechanical Research Institute, Korea) hsha@keri.re.kr

Symposium 21 – Ceramic Sensors and Actuators
▪ Point of Contact
Jong-Heun Lee (Korea University, Korea) jongheun@korea.ac.kr

Symposium 22 - Microwave Materials and Their Applications
▪ Point of Contact
Eung Soo Kim (Kyonggi Univeristy, Korea) eskim@kyonggi.ac.kr

Symposium 23 – Transparent Oxide Conductors and Semiconductors
▪ Point of Contact
Jang-Yeon Kwon (Yonsei Univ., Korea) jangyeon@yonsei.ac.kr

Symposium 24 – Ferroelectric/Multiferroic Thin Films and Nanostructures
▪ Point of Contact
Yong Soo Cho (Yonsei University, Korea) ycho@yonsei.ac.kr


V. CERAMICS FOR ENERGY AND THE ENVIRONMENT

Symposium 25 - Solid Oxide Fuel Cells and Hydrogen Technology
▪ Point of Contact
Fatih Dogan (Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA) doganf@mst.edu
Jong-Ho Lee (Korea Institute of Science and Technology, KOREA) jongho@kist.re.kr

Symposium 26 - Direct Thermal to Electrical Energy Conversion Materials and Applications
▪ Point of Contact
Yuzuru Miyazaki (Tohoku University, Japan) miya@crystal.apph.tohoku.ac.jp
Chan Park (Seoul National University, Korea) pchan@snu.ac.kr

Symposium 27 - Ceramics for Rechargeable Energy Storage
▪ Point of Contact
Kisuk Kang (Seoul National University, Korea) matlgen1@snu.ac.kr
Do Kyung Kim (KAIST, Korea) dkkim@kaist.ac.kr

Symposium 28 - Ceramics for Innovative Nuclear Energy Systems
▪ Point of Contact
Ji Yeon Park (Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute, Korea) jypark@kaeri.re.kr
Yutai Katoh (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA) katohy@ornl.gov
Derek Buckthorpe (AMEC NNC, UK) derek.buckthorpe@amec.com

Symposium 29 - Photocatalytic Materials: Reaction, Processing, Applications
"Emerging Nanomaterials for Solar Energy Harvesting"

▪ Point of Contact
Ki Tae Nam (Seoul National University, Korea) nkitae@snu.ac.kr

Symposium 30 - Ceramics for Solar Energy and Applications
▪ Point of Contact
Sang Il Seok (Korea Research Institute of Chemical Technology, Korea) seoksi@krict.re.kr

Symposium 31 - Ceramics Enabling Environmental Protection: Clean Air and Water
▪ Point of Contact
Alek Pyzik (The Dow Chemical Company, USA) apyzik@dow.com
Young-Wook Kim (University of Seoul, Korea) ywkim@uos.ac.kr

Symposium 32 - Mechanical properties and model simulation of porous ceramic materials
▪ Point of Contact
Vania Salvini (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil) pvrs@ufscar.br

Symposium 33 - Glasses and Ceramics for Nuclear and Hazardous Waste Treatment
▪ Point of Contact
Aldo R. Boccaccini (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany) Aldo.boccaccini@ww.uni-erlangen.de
Russell J. Hand (University of Sheffield, UK) r.hand@sheffield.ac.uk

VI. CERAMICS IN BIOLOGY, MEDICINE AND HUMAN HEALTH

Symposium 34 - Processing and synthesis of nanostructured bioceramics for biomedical application
▪ Point of Contact
Roger Narayan (University of North Carolina and North Carolina State University, USA) roger_narayan@msn.com
Hui-Suk Yun (Korea Institute of Materials Science, Korea) yuni@kims.re.kr

Symposium 35 - Biological Functionalization of Bioceramics
▪ Point of Contact
Byong Taek Lee (Soonchunhyang University, Korea) lbt@sch.ac.kr
Young-Hag Koh (Korea University, Korea) kohyh@korea.ac.kr

Symposium 36 - Ceramic nano materials in environment, health and safety and natural source bioceramics
▪ Point of Contact
Masakazu Kawashita (Tohoku University, Japan) m-kawa@ecei.tohoku.ac.jp
Jeong-Ho Chang (Korea Institute of Ceramic Engineering and Technology, Korea) jhchang@kicet.re.kr

SPECIAL SYMPOSIA

Symposium 37 – Structure, Properties and Applications of Glasses
▪ Point of Contact
Yong Gyu Choi (Korea Aerospace University, Korea) ygchoi@kau.ac.kr
Gang Chen (Ohio University, USA) cheng3@ohio.edu

Symposium 38 - Arts and Traditional Ceramics: Pottery, Refractory, Insulators, Jewelry Ceramics
▪ Point of Contact
Hyung-Tae Kim (Korea Institute of Ceramic Engineering and Technology, Korea) htkim@kicet.re.kr
Ohsung Song(University of Seoul, Korea) songos@uos.ac.kr
Ik-Jin Kim (Hanseo University, Korea) ijkim@hanseo.ac.kr